musée du prado œuvres

Le guide des œuvres du musée du Prado pour les néophytes

Considéré comme l'un des plus grands musées d'art du monde, le musée du Prado à Madrid abrite une collection permanente d'art comprenant plus de 5000 dessins et plus de 2000 œuvres d'art, 700 sculptures et plus de 1000 médailles et pièces de monnaie. Que vous souhaitiez découvrir le paysage artistique madrilène ou simplement admirer les œuvres des maîtres espagnols, vous ne serez pas déçu(e) par ce que vous verrez au musée du Prado. L'un des principaux points forts du musée est sa collection de peintures de Vélasquez. Le musée jouit d'une réputation bien méritée en tant que source principale de l'art mondial. Le musée a ouvert ses portes en 1819, ce qui en fait l'une des toutes premières galeries d'art publiques du monde. Les œuvres du musée du Prado apportent un regard fascinant sur la scène artistique espagnole grâce aux peintures des maîtres qui y sont exposées.

Musée du Prado : Artistes et thèmes

billets musée du prado

Le musée du Prado abrite la collection la plus exhaustive au monde d'œuvres de Vélasquez, Francisco de Goya et El Greco. Des œuvres d'autres maîtres espagnols, tels que José de Ribera et Francisco de Zurbarán, sont également exposées au musée.

Au cours de votre visite du musée, vous pourrez également admirer des œuvres de Raphaël, Jérôme Bosch, Paolo Véronèse, Pieter Bruegel l'Ancien, le Tintoret, Anthony Van Dyck, Peter Paul Rubens, Rembrandt, Antoine Watteau, Nicolas Poussin et Claude Lorrain. Le musée du Prado expose également une excellente collection de statues gréco-romaines.

billets musée du prado

En 2021, la collection permanente du musée du Prado devrait changer considérablement avec une représentation plus marquée des femmes et un accent sur l'inclusivité, les modifications étant achevées d'ici l'été 2021. En outre, le nombre d'artistes représentés dans le musée sera élargi, avec des œuvres provenant de pays non européens.

Parmi les thèmes abordés au musée du Prado figurent les saints, le Nouveau Testament et les Apocryphes, le portrait royal, le nu, le portrait profane, les métiers et les professions, l'iconographie de la Vierge, les dieux et divinités mythologiques, le réalisme social et la vie quotidienne, et l'Ancien Testament.

Points forts du musée du Prado

Las Meninas, Diego Vélasquez

L'un des plus grands tableaux de Vélasquez, « Las Meninas », a été créé pour exprimer un sentiment de vie et de réalité à travers un ensemble complexe de significations. Cette composition dense a également l'honneur d'être la seule œuvre à laquelle l'écrivain Antonio Palomino a consacré une section distincte dans son livre sur l'histoire des peintres espagnols.

Les Peinture noires, Francisco Goya

« Les Peintures noires » sont une collection de quatorze peintures de Francisco Goya. Les peintures ont été réalisées par Goya dans les dernières années de sa vie, entre 1819 et 1823. Comme leur nom l'indique, « les Peintures noires » présentent des thèmes intenses et obsédants qui reflètent la vision sombre que Goya avait de l'humanité et sa crainte croissante de la folie.

L'Immaculée Conception, Giovanni Battista Tiepolo

Cette œuvre d'art majestueuse faisait partie d'une collection de sept retables demandés pour l'église royale de San Pascual Bailon en 1767. Les retables présentent l'ensemble de la décoration picturale de cette église franciscaine de l'Alcantarine, de style classique austère.

Le Gentilhomme à la main sur la poitrine, El Greco

Ce portrait en buste a été donné au musée par la veuve du duc d'Arco. Peint à Tolède vers 1580, ce tableau est le plus célèbre d'une série de portraits profanes d'un inconnu vêtu de noir et portant une collerette blanche, sur fond sombre.

Le Jardin des délices, Jérôme Bosch

Le « Jardin des délices » est sans doute la création la plus emblématique et la plus énigmatique de Bosch. Le thème principal du « Jardin des délices » est le destin de l'humanité. Bien que ce thème soit similaire à celui du « Chariot de foin », Bosch représente ce concept de manière très différente et plus explicite.

Charles V at Múhlberg, Titian

This portrait celebrates Charles V's victory over the Schmalkaldic League at Mühlberg in 1547. The detailed artwork spotlights his suit of armor, which has an image of the Virgin and Child on the breastplate, as was the norm with Charles' armor from 1531.

Judith au banquet d'Holofernes, Rembrandt

« Judith au banquet d'Holofernes », un tableau du légendaire maître néerlandais Rembrandt, est un autre point fort du musée du Prado. Si le sujet du tableau est resté flou pendant des siècles, on pense qu'il s'agit de Sophonisba ou d'Artemisia. Nombreux sont ceux qui identifient également le tableau comme représentant une reine générique, avec ses bijoux et ses riches vêtements, recevant une coupe des mains d'une jeune fille.

Salière en onyx avec une sirène en or, Anonyme

Cette peinture présente une coupe ou une salière avec une sculpture émaillée d'or ornée de rubis et de diamants tenue par un personnage. La figure est une sirène à double queue avec un torse en or et une queue émaillée vert translucide. Elle porte une coiffe de plumes émaillées et ses bras ouverts tiennent un récipient en agate orné de rubis avec un amas de feuilles émaillées.

Expositions du musée du Prado

Le musée du Prado accueille régulièrement des expositions spéciales pour ses visiteurs. Les expositions actuellement présentées sont les suivantes :

  • Le legs de Carmen Sánchez. Une dernière leçon (du 23 mars 2021 au 24 octobre 2021) : Le musée du Prado organise une exposition qui rend hommage à la donatrice Carmen Sánchez. Cette exposition réunit une quinzaine d'œuvres exceptionnelles achetées en son nom. 
  • Le Musée du Prado et ses bâtiments (à partir du 17 mars 2021 ) : En collaboration avec le géant technologique sud-coréen Samsung, cette exposition permet aux visiteurs de remonter le temps et de découvrir comment le Museo del Prado a vu le jour..
  • Retrouvailles (du 6 juin 2020 au 25 juillet 2021) : Pour créer cette exposition, plus de 190 œuvres d'art ont été déplacées dans la galerie centrale. Ici, les amateurs d'art peuvent discuter en voyant des œuvres contrastées rassemblées.
  • Marinus. Peintre de Reymerswaele (du 9 mars 2021 au 13 juin 2021) : Cette exposition monographique présente les œuvres d'un artiste originaire des Pays-Bas qui a principalement travaillé au début du 16e siècle, Marinus van Reymerswaele.

Musée du Prado : Billet d'entrée horodatée

Billets mobiles
Confirmation immédiate
En savoir plus +

Visite guidée du Musée du Prado

En savoir plus +

Paseo del Arte : Pass pour le Musée du Prado, le Musée Thyssen-Bornemisza et le Musée national centre d’art Reine Sofia.

En savoir plus +

Combo : Palais royal de Madrid et Musée du Prado

Durée : 5 h
Annulation gratuite
Coupe-file
En savoir plus +

Foire aux questions : Œuvres du musée du Prado

Quelle période artistique le musée du Prado couvre-t-il ?

Les œuvres exposées au musée du Prado datent du 12e siècle au début du 20e siècle et proviennent de l'ancienne collection royale espagnole.

Quels sont les peintures du musée du Prado à ne pas manquer ?

Parmi les peintures du musée du Prado à ne pas manquer, citons Le Jardin des délices, La descente de croix, L'Origine de la Voie lactée et Les trois grâces, et Artemisia.

Quelles sont les sculptures du musée du Prado à ne pas manquer ?

Les sculptures et œuvres de la Renaissance et du Baroque des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, ainsi que certaines pièces orientales et médiévales sont incontournables au musée du Prado.

Pour quoi le musée du Prado est-il célèbre ?

Le musée du Prado abrite la collection de peinture espagnole la plus riche et la plus complète au monde, ainsi que des chefs-d'œuvre de l'art italien et flamand.

Combien de tableaux sont conservés au Museo Nacional del Prado ?

Plus de 2 300 peintures ont été incorporées au musée du Prado depuis son ouverture, ainsi qu'un grand nombre de sculptures, de gravures et de dessins.

Quelle est l'œuvre d'art la plus célèbre du musée du Prado ?

Las Meninas, peint par Diego Vélasquez en 1656, est l'un des tableaux les plus célèbres du musée du Prado.

Combien de temps faut-il prévoir pour visiter le musée du Prado à Madrid ?

Vous pouvez explorer l'ensemble du musée du Prado à Madrid en 3 à 4 heures environ.

Peut-on prendre des photos au musée du Prado ?

Il est interdit de prendre des photos ou d'enregistrer des vidéos dans les galeries du musée du Prado.

Prado Museum Paintings

The First-Timer's Guide to Prado Museum Paintings

Considered one of the world's greatest art museums, the Prado Museum in Madrid houses a permanent collection of art featuring over 5000 drawings and more than 2000 works of art, 700 sculptures, and over 1000 medals and coins. Whether you're interested in discovering the Madrid art scene or just want to admire the work of Spanish masters, you won't be disappointed with what you witness at the Prado Museum. One of the key highlights of the museum is its collection of Velazquez paintings. The museum has a well-earned reputation for being the foundation of world art. The museum opened in 1819, making it one of the world's very first public art galleries. Prado Museum paintings offer a fascinating peek into the Spanish art scene with works of masters on display.

Prado Museum Artists and Themes

Prado Museum paintings

The Prado Museum is home to the most exhaustive collection of the works of Velazquez, Francisco de Goya, and El Greco in the world. Art by other Spanish masters such as José de Ribera and Francisco de Zurbarán is also on display in the museum.

During your tour of the museum, you'll also get to witness art by Raphael, Hiëronymus Bosch, Paolo Veronese, Pieter Bruegel the Elder, Tintoretto, Anthony Van Dyck, Peter Paul Rubens, Rembrandt, Antoine Watteau, Nicolas Poussin, and Claude Lorrain. Prado Museum also showcases a stellar collection of Greco-Roman statuary.

Prado museum art

In 2021, the Prado Museum's permanent collection is expected to undergo a substantial change with a more pronounced representation of women and a focus on inclusivity, with updates completed by summer 2021. Apart from this, there'll be an expansion of the artists represented in the museum with the inclusion of art from outside Europe.

Some of the themes explored in Prado Museum are Saints, The New Testament & The Apocrypha, Royal Portrait, Nude/Naked, Secular Portrait, Trades & Professions, The Iconography Of The Virgin, Mythological Gods/Deities, Social Realism/Everyday Life, and The Old Testament.

Prado Museum Highlights

Las Meninas, Diego Velázquez

One of Velazquez's largest paintings, Las Meninas was created to convey a sense of life and reality with a complex network of meanings. This dense composition also holds the honor of being the only artwork to which writer Antonio Palomino dedicated a separate section in his book on the history of Spanish painters.

The Black Paintings, Francisco Goya

The Black Paintings is a collection of fourteen paintings by Francisco Goya. The paintings were done by Goa in the later years of his life somewhere between 1819 and 1823. As the name suggests, the Black Paintings showcase intense, haunting themes that reflect Goya's dire outlook of humanity and growing fear of insanity.

The Immaculate Conception, Giovanni Battista Tiepolo

This majestic piece of art was part of a collection of seven altarpieces requested for the royal church of San Pascual Bailon in 1767. The altarpieces showcase the complete pictorial decoration of this Alcantarine Franciscan church, which features an austere classical style.

The Nobleman with his Hand on his Chest, El Greco

This bust-length portrait was donated to the museum by the widow of the Duke of Arco. Painted in Toledo around 1580, and the painting is the most famous in a series of secular portraits of an unknown gentleman dressed in black and wearing white ruffs, against dark backgrounds.

The Garden of Earthly Delights, Hieronymus Bosch

The Garden of Earthly Delights is arguably Bosch’s most iconic and enigmatic creation. The overarching theme of The Garden of Earthly Delights is the fate of humanity. While the theme is similar to The Haywain, Bosch represents this concept quite differently in a more explicit manner.

Charles V at Múhlberg, Titian

This portrait celebrates Charles V's victory over the Schmalkaldic League at Mühlberg in 1547. The detailed artwork spotlights his suit of armor, which has an image of the Virgin and Child on the breastplate, as was the norm with Charles' armor from 1531.

Charles V at Múhlberg, Titian

This portrait celebrates Charles V's victory over the Schmalkaldic League at Mühlberg in 1547. The detailed artwork spotlights his suit of armor, which has an image of the Virgin and Child on the breastplate, as was the norm with Charles' armor from 1531.

Judith at the Banquet of Holofernes, Rembrandt

A painting by legendary Dutch master Rembrandt, Judith at the Banquet of Holofernes is another highlight of the Prado Museum. While the subject of the picture wasn't clear for centuries, it's believed to be Sophonisba or Artemisia. Many also identify the painting as featuring a generic queen given her jewels and rich garments, receiving a cup from a maiden. 

Cup with Golden Mermaid, Anonymous

This painting showcases a cup or a salt cellar with a gold-enameled sculpture adorned with rubies and diamonds held by a figure. The figure is a double-tailed mermaid with a gold torso and a translucent green enameled tail. She wears a headdress of enameled feathers and her open arms hold an agate vessel adorned with rubies with a heap of enameled leaves.

Prado Museum Exhibitions

Prado Museum regularly hosts special exhibits for its visitors. The current exhibitions in place are:

  • The Carmen Sánchez Bequest: The Ultimate Lesson (23 March 2021 - 24 October 2021): The generous bequest made by Carmen Sánchez García,a teacher, to the Museo del Prado is on display. 
  • History of the Museo del Prado and its Buildings (17 March 2021 onwards): In collaboration with South Korean tech giant Samsung, this exhibition takes guests back in time and discover how the Museo del Prado came to be.
  • Reunited (6 June 2020 - 25 July 2021): To create this installation, over 190 works of art were relocated to the Central Gallery. Here, art lovers can engage in dialogue as they see contrasting works placed together.
  • Marinus: Painter from Reymerswale (9 March 2021 to 13 June 2021): This monographic exhibition features the works of an artist hailing from the Netherlands who primarily worked in the early 16th century — Marinus van Reymerswaele.

Prado Museum Paintings: Frequently Asked Questions

What art period does Prado Museum cover?

The art on display at Prado Museum dates from the 12th century to the early 20th century, based on the former Spanish Royal Collection.

What Prado Museum paintings should I not miss?

Prado Museum paintings you shouldn’t miss include The Garden of Earthly Delights, The Descent from the Cross, The Birth of the Milky Way and The Three Graces, and Artemisia.

What Prado Museum sculptures should I not miss?

Renaissance and Baroque sculptures and works from the 18th and 19th centuries, along with some Oriental and Medieval pieces are not to be missed at Prado Museum.

What is the Prado Museum famous for?

Prado Museum houses the world's richest and most comprehensive collection of Spanish painting, as well as masterpieces of Italian and Flemish art.

How many paintings does the Museo Nacional del Prado have?

More than 2,300 paintings have been incorporated into the Museum del Prado since its opening along with a large number of sculptures, prints, and drawings.

What is the most famous work of art in the Prado Museum?

Las Meninas, painted by Diego Velazquez in 1656, is one of the most famous paintings in the Prado Museum.

How long does it take to see the Prado Museum Madrid?

You can explore the entire Prado Museum Madrid in approximately 3 to 4 hours.

Can you take photos in the Prado?

The Prado Museum does not permit photographs to be taken or videos to be recorded in the galleries of the Museum.